Inspiration, Illness & INFPs…

Being bed – or should I say, couch – ridden for the past few weeks has given me a lot of time for self-reflection. I’ve been experiencing a lot of change & ups & downs in my life the past few months, what with moving to a different country, meeting lots of new people, running into a few obstacles & more recently falling ill, so I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about who I am, the life I live, the things I want to change & the things I want to achieve. Although being sick has been pretty unpleasant, it has actually been really nice to have so much time to just focus on relaxing & recovering. I’ve been using the time I’ve had to re-evaluate myself & learn more about who I am & who I want to be. I’ve also been spending a lot of time online, & when checking my Facebook for the thousandth (okay, ten-thousandth) time no longer satisfied me, I decided to combine my obsession with the internet with my obsession with self-discovery.

The first interesting thing I found was something called the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) test. I had actually taken the test a few years ago but I couldn’t remember my result & wasn’t really interested back then anyway, so I decided to give it another try. After choosing all my answers I received the result of INFP (Introversion; iNtuition; Feeling; Perception). I’ve been scouring the internet for descriptions of my type since I took the test (I even joined the INFP Facebook group to hear what others of my type had to say) & after reading a lot it is clear that I am definitely an INFP. Apparently this personality type is one of the rarest, which explains why I’ve often felt like an outsider, but we are also very intuitive, extremely deep thinkers, & are often referred to as the ‘healers’ or ‘dreamers’. According to the many descriptions I’ve read, INFPs are great listeners, extremely creative, sensitive, idealistic & are always searching for meaning in their life & ways to help make the world a better place, but can often be too hard on themselves & sometimes set their expectations too high. There’s much more information out there about what it’s like to be an INFP, as well as any of the other fifteen personality types, so if you’re interested in your type just check out the links attached to this post.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure how much this test could help me in my quest for self-discovery, but it really has opened my eyes to a lot of things & explained why I often feel, think or behave the way I do. I feel like I know myself on a much deeper level now, & finding others out there like me, through Facebook, Twitter & even YouTube, has allowed me to feel the most normal I have felt in a long time… maybe ever.

Other things that have inspired me today are:

Eliza Doolittle 1

Eliza Doolittle. Image by Clive Rowland Photography via Flickr

– Eliza Doolittle; a singer whose songs I just discovered today through a link on Facebook. I especially like her song ‘Pack Up’, which is about not caring about what other people think or say about you. Very cool 🙂

Check her out here.

iGoogle; this has probably been around for a while but I’ve only just started using it today. It allows you to completely individualize your Google homepage with pretty much whatever you want, you can choose the page theme & even add things called ‘Gadgets’ which include the weather, a calendar, etc. I’ve customized mine to show me my hotmail, facebook & twitter all at the same time, as well as adding practical things like a to do list & the ‘Supercook‘ app, which gives you a recipe using the ingredients you have in your kitchen, & fun things like a daily Simpsons quote, current moon phase, entertainment news & my personal favourite; quotes from the book ‘Eat, Pray, Love‘.

The Happiness Project; I had heard about this every now & then for a while, but today I did a bit more exploring of the website & blog & discovered it’s pretty damn cool. I’d really love to read the book once I’m back home, but until then I’ll be following the blog for more inspiration & a daily dose of extra happiness 🙂

Happiness Project

– Getting back to being an INFP, yesterday I watched a few YouTube videos by INFPatty, who is totally cool & very insightful. It was really great to listen to someone talk about the same things I think about & have trouble with. Might not be of much interest to non-INFPs, but I think it’s always beneficial to learn about how other people see the world. If you are a fellow INFP, I definitely recommend checking her out here.

Thanks for reading! See you next time with more inspirations 🙂

2 responses to “Inspiration, Illness & INFPs…

  1. hello! i have enjoyed reading your posts and am glad to have found a fellow happiness-projecter. i’m an intj, which is also one of the rarest personalities. i am sometimes conflicted because i think logically like a scientist, but i’m otherwise artsy, reading for an english degree and pursuing creative things like drama, music, and fashion (and i want to start doing visual arts things too!). so sometimes i feel left out in the arts world, and i’m certainly not a part of the science world, but to look at it differently, i can appreciate and participate in the arts in a unique and valuable way 🙂 good luck with your happiness project, and be proud of your rare personality 😀

    • Hi! Thanks for reading 🙂 Wow, you have so many creative endeavors going on, that’s so cool! I look forward to following your journey too 🙂

Leave a Reply

