World Peace In This Piece Of The World.

 

'Peace Everywhere' By Jen Saunders

I wrote this in my journal as I was on my way to China a few months ago.

‘I’m sitting at Singapore Changi Airport, waiting to board our flight to Beijing. From where I sit I can see two Indian men sitting side by side at their terminal. Both have their arms folded & heads tilted back & to the left as they sleep with their mouths open. I can hear a French man ‘Oui-Oui-ing’ as he chats on his mobile phone. I look to my left & see an old man & a little girl colouring pictures together, she calls him ‘Opa’. I look to my right & smile at an asian toddler, who is proudly giggling at his attempt to walk whilst his Dad holds his hands. A Muslim woman wearing a burka sits across from me & sings softly to her little girl as she cradles her in her arms.

In this moment, in this little pocket of the world, peace is real.’

Whenever I hear about war, inequality, hatred or any of the negativity that the news media so desperately clings to, I try to remember this one moment in which we were all the same, no matter the colour of our skin, the language we spoke or the clothes we wore. We were just people, some of us on our way to new destinations, others on their way home, but all just enjoying the moment with the people they love & sharing a smile or two with a stranger. Peace happens everyday, all we need to do is see it.

Keep smiling 🙂

Jen xo

2 responses to “World Peace In This Piece Of The World.

  1. Pingback: World Peace In This Piece Of The World. | International Travel Experience

  2. Pingback: World Peace In This Piece Of The World. | Exotic Travel Solutions

Leave a Reply

