Attitude of Gratitude


Photo taken by Jen Saunders.

“I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought;

and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.”

~ G.K. Chesterton

Thanksgiving is nearly here, & even though I grew up in Australia & so have never celebrated a real Thanksgiving, I’ve always been fascinated by it. I’m a big believer that the more thankful you are, the more abundant life becomes, so I’m going to celebrate my own Thanksgiving by listing the things I am most grateful for.

Making a gratitude list helps you to realise just how blessed you truly are & is a big step towards living a happier & more fulfilling life. You can either write them down or just list them mentally while you’re on the way to work, doing the dishes or waiting to fall asleep in bed at the end of the day.

After doing it regularly, you will begin to see a pattern. The things that pop up on your list every time are the things that are most important to you in life. By noticing what matters to you, you can become more familiar with where your priorities lie, & possibly what things you want to spend more time doing or which people you need to spend more time with.

Continuing on my journey of self-discovery, & following my 9th Commandment*, here is my list of ten things I’m grateful for:

1. Health.

For a body that is healthy, does what I want it to do & can heal itself.

2. Love.

For being loved, feeling love & giving love.

3. Possibilities.

The knowledge that I create my life with my thoughts, feelings & actions.

4. Mike.

For having a partner, a soulmate, a best friend & lover who knows me better than anyone & is always there for me & encourages me to live my best life.

5. Family.

People who love me no matter what happens.

6. Friends.

People to have fun with, laugh with, learn with & talk with.

7. Role models.

People who inspire me to live my best life, lead by example, make the world a better place & take action, all while staying true to themselves.

8. Education.

Not just school or university, but the education of life itself. Neverending opportunities to learn, grow & gain wisdom.

9. Trees.

By far the best spiritual teachers to have ever lived. They know how to be still, stay grounded, connected & play in the wind all at the same time.

10. Me.

For the person that I am, the experiences I’ve had, the memories I’ve made, the lessons I’ve learned & the person who I’m becoming.

I want to make this a regular activity, so to remind me & motivate me I have stuck notes around my apartment that say ‘Attitude of Gratitude’. I have stuck them next to my bed, on the fridge & even in the bathroom. Whenever I see a note, I think of at least two things that I am grateful for today, even if it’s just ‘For having a good night’s sleep’ or ‘For having pizza for dinner tonight’. There’s always something to be thankful for 🙂

What are you grateful for today?

Need more inspiration?

A fellow blogger, Grey Matter Life, wrote a great post a few days ago titled ‘The 30 Day Gratitude Challenge’. Check it out 🙂

*Note: After giving it some thought, I have decided to change my 5th Commandment ‘Show interest, ask questions, open up’ to ‘Nourish your spirituality’. I decided that showing interest, asking questions & opening up could be better utilized as more of a resolution, rather than a commandment. Also, I realised that I didn’t have any commandments relating to my spirituality, something that is very important to me… even if I haven’t completely figured out what it is yet. ‘Nourish you spirituality’ serves as a reminder to just be still, get in touch with the Universe, my higher self, God, whatever you want to call it. I do this through meditation, lighting candles & incense & just relaxing, reading my favourite spiritual books (all of which will be covered in later posts), listening to music, or being creative.

 

Keep Smiling 🙂

Jen xo

Leave a Reply

