Day 3: Cooking!

Today is Day 3 of Art Every Day Month. I’d been wanting to make a vegan shepherd’s pie for a while now, so I decided to do some cooking as my creative task for the day. I found the recipe on VegWeb, but I added some new ingredients (& disregarded a few other ingredients that seem to be unavailable here in China) & my version goes something like this:

Ingredients:

  • Lentils, cooked. (I used a whole bag so that we can have leftovers for lunch tomorrow)
  • 1 stick of celery, chopped
  • 4 medium potatoes, cooked & mashed (Sweet potatoes are healthier but I’m not too keen on the taste so I compromised & used two normal, two sweet)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 green capsicum, chopped
  • 1 can of corn
  • tomato sauce
  • cooking oil

Note: I was only making this for Mike & I, & these ingredients gave us plenty, with some leftover for lunch tomorrow. Add more of whatever you like, this isn’t set in stone – be creative with it! 🙂

Due to my tiny kitchen & limited cooking supplies, I had to use our mini toaster oven to cook the meal, so my directions probably won’t be helpful to anyone, haha! Here’s what it says on VegWeb:

“Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Saute onion, celery, and garlic in a little olive oil.  Add lentils and tomato sauce and cook 15 minutes.  Pour into a baking pan and cover mashed potatoes.”

Here’s how it turned out:

I know it doesn’t really look like much, but it was delicious! And, best of all, it’s super healthy 🙂 Let me know if you try it for yourself!

Keep Smiling 🙂

Jen xo

4 responses to “Day 3: Cooking!

  1. Looks delicious! I really love your blog banner.

  2. Way to go! Good to find recipes with lentils that others have tried!

  3. This is one of my favorite Winter meals, yummy!

  4. Thanks ladies! It’s definitely going to become a regular meal at our house 🙂
    Marie – Glad you like the banner! It’s a combination of some of my paintings, I put it together in photoshop. Hope everyone is having an awesome Day 4 of AEDM2010! xoxo

Leave a Reply

