Day 7: Vision Wall!

It’s Day 7 of Art Every Day Week already! What a great week it’s been 🙂 Today I continued on with the theme from yesterday, creating pretty quote art to stick on my always-growing vision wall.

My vision wall displays pictures of my family, friends, things that remind of home, some artwork I have created, my favourite quotes, photos from some of my happiest moments – such as my first art gallery exhibit & the night Mike proposed to me – & some funny pictures that always put a smile on my face. Today I added quotes (see picture below) that I hope will motivate me to focus on study, as I am recommencing university studies later this month (My first two subjects are Philosophy & Art, so you will be seeing plenty of blog posts on those two topics soon!).

HOW TO MAKE A VISION WALL:

Vision walls are a great tool when it comes to achieving goals, leading a happier life, or even just brightening up a bare wall. Not only will a vision wall help to keep you focussed on what is important to you, but they are fun to make & you can add to it & change it as your goals, tastes, & desires change.

STEP 1: You can use anything as the canvas for your vision; a bare wall in your house; a pinboard; a scrapbook or journal… Even the refrigerator door or bedroom window! As long as you will be able to see it everyday, you can place your vision anywhere you like.

STEP 2: Collect photographs, magazine clippings, articles, sketches or other artwork that relate to your goals, desires or just things that make you smile & feel all warm & fuzzy inside. For example; if your goal is to go to Hawaii, you would collect photos & images of Hawaii, it’s beaches, destinations, hula dancers, & stick them on your vision wall. You could also add some articles about the islands, where to stay, even other peoples’ blog posts about their trip to Hawaii! To give it that extra ‘pop’, you could also add a Lei or a fake Hibiscus – one of the native flowers of Hawaii. To ensure that you stick to your goal, you could add some motivational quotes written on brightly coloured post-it notes & stick them randomly around the wall, such as:

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” – Les Brown

STEP 3: Spend at least 5 minutes every day admiring your creation. You can do this as you have your morning coffee or as you get ready for bed at night. As you do so, visualize yourself achieving your goal. Imagine how it feels, what it looks like, tastes like, smells like, to have achieved your goal. Continuing with the Hawaii example; visualize yourself lying on a beach in Hawaii, feel the warm sun on your skin (you’re wearing sunblock, of course!), admire the clear blue sea, the golden sand & the tall palm trees, smell the ocean breeze… feel how proud you are for achieving your goal, how relaxed you are, & how powerful you feel knowing that you can achieve anything you set your mind to.

If you prefer, you could create a vision wall solely for happiness purposes, rather than for achieving goals. Collect photos of your loved ones, pets, role models, favourite celebrities, artwork, or things you have created yourself to stick onto your wall. Add lists of things/people that you are grateful for, inspiring quotes, funny photos… anything that makes you smile!

Maybe this can start you off:

If you have children, make creating a vision wall an arts & crafts activity for the whole family! It will be fun for them, plus it’s a great tool for helping them to set goals & focus on the things that make them happy. After all, it’s never too early for children to learn valuable life skills such as goal setting & positive thinking!

*If you create a vision wall – or already have one – please feel free to email me pictures of them (jenartist@live.com.au) I will include them in another post to help inspire others 🙂

Keep Smiling! 🙂

Jen xo

 

3 responses to “Day 7: Vision Wall!

  1. Oo, I love your vision wall!! I used to have one like that in an old apartment I had years ago. Right now I’ve just got a cork board, but I’m loving your wall!

  2. Pingback: My Smiling Heart

Leave a Reply

