Words, Distractions & Love Bombs

 

Credit: moonlightbulb on flickr

I found a website today that I think is particularly cool. It’s called #reverb10, & for every day in this month of December, it’s awesome creators post a prompt for people to write about. The aim is to reflect on 2010, the year that is coming to an end, & manifest awesomeness for our next big adventure; 2011.

Obviously, I am starting a few days behind, so I will answer the first two in this post, & the next three tomorrow.

December 1 – One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

My word to encapsulate 2010 is ‘AWESOME’. If you haven’t noticed yet, I love that word. I think it a lot, I say it a lot, I definitely write it a lot, & if I ever had a band we would totally be called ‘The Awesomes’. I live in my own little Awesome Street.

I want to make it clear that I wouldn’t choose that to be my word for 2010 if, in fact, 2010 wasn’t AWESOME. But it was, & still is. 2010 has very easily been the best year of my life.

Yes, some of my worst fears have come true this year, but so have my biggest dreams. But more on that later in the month, when I write about what this year has brought me, & what I intend to leave here as we enter 2011.

A word for next year is a bit harder to decide. Coincidentally enough (note: I don’t really believe in coincidences) today’s post by Gretchen Rubin for The Happiness Project discusses choosing a theme word for next year. Gretchen chose the word ‘Bigger’ as her theme for 2011.

I have to say, I am very tempted to take the easy way out & just choose ‘AWESOMER’ as my theme word for 2011… but before I decide I might have to think about it a bit more. Next year is definitely going to be huge for me though, a lot of change is coming my way (good change, of course!) so maybe a word along those lines would be best. Any suggestions? 🙂

December 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

First of all, I must find out who this Leo Babauta is, as that is the third time I’ve seen his name today &, as I said, I don’t believe in coincidences.

Okay, I just Googled this Leo guy & he is living the life of my dreams. I’m guessing most people reading this already know who he is (I just discovered his blog is in the top 25 of the whole world!) but for those who are like me & had no idea who he is until now, I shall explain further.

Leo Babauta is the creator & writer of the blog Zen Habits, & according to the ‘About’ page on his blog he is an author, has 6 kids, lives in San Francisco, & is a vegan. Yep, that’s pretty much my dream life right there. Looks like I have a new hero to learn from! 🙂

Do you see what I just did there? I got completely distracted from what I was supposed to be writing about. I went on a virtual knowledge hunt to satisfy my ever-growing curiosity instead of answering the prompt question.

On the other hand, I guess I did answer the question: with an example. Yes, I get distracted easily, especially when it comes to the internet. I can definitely work on that. Upside? I do always end up with some pretty cool & useful information! After all, I now have a new addition to my list of people who inspire me.

Speaking of people who inspire me…

There’s someone I want you all to meet. Her name is Vee, & she is going through an incredibly tough time right now. I was introduced to her through something called the ‘Love Bomb’, which I started participating in a few weeks ago.

It’s a group of people online, who once a week, visit the blog of someone who is experiencing hardship & leave hundreds of supportive, positive, love-filled comments for them to read. Every week, anyone can nominate a person whose blog they want to be love-bombed.

This week, the blogger is Vee, a pregnant mother of two, who only two weeks ago, lost her husband unexpectedly in a hunting accident. I took some time to read her posts & was brought to tears by her story. One line in particular really stood out to me…

Most people don’t know what they have until they lose it. I knew what I had, and I loved every minute of it.”

This line breaks my heart, makes me appreciate what I have & terrifies me all at once. It has weaved its way into my soul & will stay with me for the rest of my life.

So, if you are reading this, I ask you to please visit Vees’ blog & show your support. Send her some love. Leave a comment, write a message, anything that you think might help even just a little bit.

Kind words never go to waste.

If you want to participate in the weekly Love Bomb too, sign up here.

See you tomorrow!

Jen ♥

9 responses to “Words, Distractions & Love Bombs

  1. Thanks for this post. I visited Vee’s site and left a comment. What a strong & loving person she must be! I’m enjoying you blog very much.

  2. Okay, my dear – I am officially a FAN!
    Thank you so much for the intro to Vee – the circle expands!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Words, Distractions & Love Bombs « My Smiling Heart -- Topsy.com

  4. Jen, I discovered you through your post on Tiny Buddha. I was immediately drawn to your authenticity and your ongoing “splat to spectacular” story. 🙂 So I came to your blog and subscribed.

    I’m glad I did. I love this post. I’m glad you discovered Leo. I discovered him several months ago, and his story inspires me.

    I love your word, “Awesome.” Mine is “vulnerable,” because I’ve found my vulnerable situation has helped me reveal my vulnerability in positive ways. For next year, my word is “allowing.” I’m ready to allow things to flow!

    I will for sure visit Vee’s blog. Thanks for telling us about it.

  5. Awesomer is an excellent choice, as is the Happiness Project and Tinybuddha.com. Looks like we are on the same track. My 2011 word of choice is INSPIRE. I look forward to reading more posts.

    • Wow, we are definitely on the same track – I’ve been thinking about making INSPIRE my 2011 word too! It’s either that, or ACTION. Maybe I’ll combine it to; INSPIRED ACTION 😀 Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  6. Very interesting info, i am waiting for more !!! Keep updating your blog and you will have a lot o readers

Leave a Reply

