Baby, You’re A Firework!

Hello! 🙂

I’ve been thinking lately about what makes a day a ‘good day’ for me. One thing that always makes my day brighter & gives me positive vibes is listening to my favourite music.

There isn’t really a particular style of music that I like, what gets my attention first is always the lyrics. I love any song that makes me think, that tells a story, teaches me something, or makes me feel good about myself. I see song lyrics as affirmations, words that you often repeat to yourself, they become a part of your subconscious & eventually affect how you see the world. So, songs with positive, empowering lyrics, especially when written &/or sung by a woman, are particularly powerful for me.

‘Firework’ by Katy Perry is an extremely positive & empowering song. The song always gives me goosebumps, & the video brings tears to my eyes. Whether you like this type of music or not, everyone can benefit from listening to the lyrics.

C’mon, sing along! I promise I won’t judge 🙂

“Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting throught the wind
Wanting to start again

Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards
One blow from caving in

Do you ever feel already buried deep
Six feet under scream
But no one seems to hear a thing

Do you know that tehre’s still a chance for you
Cause there’s a spark in you

You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night
Like the Fourth of July

Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on show ’em what your worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you’re a firework
Come on let your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
You’re gunna leave ’em fallin’ down-own-own

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe you’re reason why all the doors are closed
So you can open one that leads you to the perfect road

Like a lightning bolt, your heart will blow
And when it’s time, you’ll know

You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night
Like the Fourth of July

Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on show ’em what your worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you’re a firework
Come on slet your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
You’re gunna leave ’em fallin’ down-own-own

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
It’s always been inside of you, you, you
And now it’s time to let it through

Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on show ’em what your worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you’re a firework
Come on slet your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
You’re gunna leave ’em goin “Oh, oh, oh!”

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon”

I’ll be posting again soon to catch up on the #reverb10 prompts from the last few days!
Until then,
Keep Smiling! 🙂
Jen ♥
11 responses to “Baby, You’re A Firework!

  1. My daughter and I sing this together
    as well as Katy’s Pearl.
    The lyrics are so empowering!
    🙂

  2. Thanks so much for posting this. Of course I cried when I watched, like I cried when I saw it the first time. But it IS empowering, and I KNOW my day needed the boost!!

  3. Thanks for sharing this song!!! I love the lyrics and the music too. My dog, Ducky, who has her own teaching spot on my site, also has a blip.fm channel, and she’s always looking for inspiring, feel-good songs to play. 😉 This is a great one!

  4. Wow. Just…wow. I don’t listen to or watch much current music. Aging hippie here, and I think my generation wrote and sang some truly amazing stuff. But this – this is GOOD. Thank you!

  5. Pingback: Tumblr Tuesday! « My Smiling Heart

  6. One of my favourite songs to paint to! Thanks for postign the lyrics, I don’t always catch them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

