Wise Words Wednesday!

“Life is very interesting… in the end, some of your greatest pains, become your greatest strengths.”

~ Drew Barrymore

I’m on a Drew Barrymore binge this week πŸ™‚ I love watching her movies, she has the greatest sense of style & individuality. I’ve admired her since I was a teenager; her cool hippy personality & child-like excitement for life has always inspired me, & she’s probably one of the reasons why I’m such a hippy.

Also, Drew’s my birthday twin, which is just plain awesome πŸ™‚

Speaking of AWESOME! How are you today? Smiled at yourself in the mirror yet? I hope so πŸ˜€

My Wednesday is coming to an end, but I know for most of you it has just begun – & you can make of it whatever you like! Even if it hasn’t started out exactly the way you wanted it to, if you’re feeling the stress of the holiday season or if you just woke up grumpy, YOU have the power to turn it all around.

My day today didn’t start off the greatest. The past three mornings I’ve been woken up at the crack of dawn by our upstairs neighbours hammering & doing renovations. Our walls are already thin enough that we can hear our neighbours flushing their toilets, so the hammering sounds like it’s happening right in our apartment. I’m usually a pretty ‘zen’ person, but loud, constant knocking on the walls while I’m trying to sleep is enough to drive me insane in the membrane.

Yes, it’s frustrating at the time, but I don’t let it determine the rest of my day. As soon as I’m out of bed, it’s out of my mind. I smile, stretch & let it go. I know that I can choose whether or not it affects my mood & my day. And now, it’s almost midnight, & I can honestly say I’ve had a really great day πŸ™‚ I even forgot about the hammering until I started writing this post.

If your day didn’t start out the way you would have liked it to, the rest of your day can still be Awesome, with a capital ‘A’!

You have the power to create your day, so don’t give it to someone else – even if it seems like people are hammering your walls down to get it πŸ˜‰

Keep Smiling!

JenΒ β™₯

7 responses to “Wise Words Wednesday!

  1. I love the hammering metaphor. You’re so right–we can choose to be full of joy and peace or living in misery. Why choose the latter?

  2. Awesome, and thank you, awesome has become a daily word for me.

    The attitude of gratitude is always a way to find the soul.

    Love and Hugs….

    ME and the Boss

    http://meandtheboss-2010.blogspot.com/

  3. Absolutely luv this post. That’s something I have to constantly remind myself of. We definitely have a “choice” as to how thing ultimately affect us and to what degree. Recently came across your blog via an rt related search and I’m glad I did. Lovely uplifting posts! Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  4. You are SO cool! I totally forgot how I just found this blog, because I’m blown away by the awesomeness of it (and I have a bad memory). Anyway, I agree with you 100%! I like taking responsibility for the way I feel each day, and I believe others should, too! There are so many things we can do to make ourselves happy, and I’m glad you take advantage of them and inspire others to do the same. I love this blog. Keep up your awesome attitude. =)

  5. Pingback: Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011! :D « My Smiling Heart

Leave a Reply

