Wise Words Wednesday: Rising Above.

“One resolution I have made,

and try always to keep, is this:

To rise above the little things.”

~ John Burroughs

At a time when everyone is remembering 2010 & eagerly awaiting 2011, a few things have come to light in my life that make me see just how much I’ve matured since leaving home this year.

Very recently, I’ve discovered that there are some people in my life who aren’t being truthful with me, & even though I’m literally thousands of miles away, I’ve found myself suddenly wedged in the middle of a game of ‘he-said-she-said’.

Six months ago, I would have dived head first into this mess & drowned myself in all the details, asking for direct quotes of everything that so-and-so said about me, & spending hours discussing how I’d been ‘wronged’ & ‘betrayed’.

Yesterday, when I discovered things had been said about me & lies had been told, I had no interest in requesting a word for word dialogue or stewing over the details. Someone else’s lies & perception of me is none of my business, & it says more about who they are than it does about who I am.

While it did sting a little bit to find out I’ve been lied to & gossiped about, I’m not angry or vengeful. It’s not the first time it’s happened, & it won’t be the last. In fact, I’m thankful for this experience; it has shown me just how far I’ve come & how different I am from the person I used to be earlier this year.

Six months ago, something like discovering false friends would have been devastating for me. Now, after everything I’ve overcome here in China, it seems pretty simple:

Phoniness, dishonesty & any other useless noise, has no place in my life, & I won’t let it distract me from what’s really important.

There’s a whole world out there, & we’ve only got one life to live, so…

I’m rising above.

I’m only interested in authentic, considerate people who love life & who are secure enough within themselves that they can support my growth instead of feeling threatened by it. I’m grateful that I already have quite a few people in my life who fit that description.

Those are the people who will be coming with me into 2011 🙂

We have the power & the potential to make this next year as AWESOME as we want it to be, all we need to do is stay focused on the positive & remember what really matters.

Everything else is just noise.

Keep Smiling!

Jen ♥

12 responses to “Wise Words Wednesday: Rising Above.

  1. Wise words indeed, luv this post! But that state of mind definitely doesn’t happen over night. I think I’ve only recently started to rise above things of that nature. Like you I would have let something like that consume me and control what I felt about myself, and how i reacted to anyone around me. But indeed life is too short to let other people’s problems” become your problems… onwards and upwards 🙂

    • Thanks Vanessa! You’re right, it doesn’t happen overnight. I think, for me, being isolated from things like gossip, backstabbing etc for so long & then suddenly being immersed in it again made me see how small it is in comparison to the awesomeness I’ve been experiencing lately 🙂 Onwards & upwards indeed!

  2. Sum quod Sum
    A comment that relates to you past few posts, #reverb10 and Wise Words,

    Awesome…..

    Stay happy within, and know that those who are jealous can never hurt you,
    matter of fact, take it as a compliment that they only wish they had what you have.

    Love and Hugs, ME and the Boss

    • Awesome! 🙂 You are right, it is a compliment! I just wish they knew that they can have what I have, they can have whatever they dream of, if they just believed in themselves & saw life differently. Maybe one day 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  3. Jen – so wonderful that you have reached this place early in your life – it took me 5 decades! Lots of time wasted on what did not matter.
    I love this post – it totally reminds me of how I intend to live my life.
    Thank you and happy new year!

    • Happy New Year to you, too, Karen! 😀 It’s great that you are in that place of rising above the small stuff too, some people never reach that point! I’m very happy to be able to step back & recognise the small stuff now, but keeping it up when I’m back home & exposed to it all again will be the real test! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. Great post! Who we are doesn’t depend on what others think of us, but on what we think of ourselves.

  5. Thanks Jen! Your comments really hit home! After 3 years of dealing with and obsessing about lies and dishonest behavior directed at me, from a family member, I have grown too. I now realize that it isn’t my problem, it’s theirs. I live more in the moment and focus on my happiness and the kind of person I am choosing to be. I have so much more inner peace and calmness. My true friends and family know what kind of person I am and would never believe such lies. I am so grateful for having them in my life. They have been so supportive and a joy to be around! I have made a conscious choice to associate with only those who have a positive influence on my life, and as little as possible with those who who are negative.

    • Hi Renee! I really love this line that you wrote; ‘I have made a conscious choice to associate with only those who have a positive influence on my life’, so cool! That really sums it all up for me & how I have chosen to live my life, too. We can spend our time with whoever we choose, so why spend it with people who make you feel less than AWESOME? 🙂 Thanks for reading & commenting! 😀 & Happy New Year!

  6. Your blog post reminds me so much of the song: Special Ones, sung by Katie Noonan :o)

Leave a Reply

