Wise Words: Strength, Courage & Wisdom

To continue with the theme from my last post, which was everything you need is within, I want to share this song with you. It’s called ‘Strength, Courage & Wisdom’, by the beautiful India Arie.

When I first heard this song, I remember really listening to the lyrics & feeling so deeply connected to it, as though it was written specifically for me. A new layer of awareness of myself emerged, & now I always listen to this song whenever I’m feeling insecure or doubtful.

The lyrics always remind me that I already possess all the qualities that I need in order to overcome challenges & live the life I’ve always dreamed of.

Lyrics:

“Strength, Courage & Wisdom”

“Inside my head there lives a dream that I want to see in the sun
Behind my eyes there lives a me that I’ve been hiding for much too long
‘Cause I’ve been, too afraid to let it show
‘Cause I’m scared of the judgment that may follow
Always putting off my living for tomorrow
It’s time to step out on faith, I’ve gotta show my face
It’s been elusive for so long, but freedom is mine today
I’ve gotta step out on faith, It’s time to show my face
Procrastination had me down but look what I have found, I found

[Chorus:]
Strength, courage, and wisdom
And it’s been inside of me all along,
Strength, courage, and wisdom
Inside of me

Behind my pride there lives a me, that knows humility
Inside my voice there is a soul, and in my soul there is a voice
But I’ve been, too afraid to make a choice
‘Cause I’m scared of the things that I might be missing
Running too fast to stop and listen

It’s time to step out on faith, I’ve gotta show my face
It’s been elusive for so long but freedom is mine today
I’ve gotta step out on faith it’s time to show my face
Procrastination had me down but look what I have found, I found

[Chorus]

[Bridge:]
I close my eyes and I think of all the things that I want to see
‘Cause I know, now that I’ve opened up my heart I know that
Anything I want can be, so let it be, so let it be:.

Strength, courage, and wisdom
It’s been inside of me all along,
Strength, courage, wisdom
It’s been inside of me all along, everyday I’m praying for:

[Chorus]

I found it in me, I found it finally
I’m sure to keep it’ cause I like it, I say thank you”

Have you ever heard a song with so much truth to it?

Everything we need is within us right now.

In Other News…

Happy Chinese New Year!

Feb 3rd marks the beginning of the Year of the Rabbit, & as someone who was also born in the year of the rabbit in 1987, I have a good feeling about 2011 🙂

I found a website that has some information about what the year of the rabbit means, so if you’re interested, check it out.

As I said in my last post, I’m in Beijing at the moment so please forgive me if it takes a little longer for me to reply to your comments & emails, but I hope you are all having a great week!

Stay AWESOME!

P.S I’ve made something for you, keep an eye out for my next post! 😀

Jen ♥


8 responses to “Wise Words: Strength, Courage & Wisdom

  1. Jen
    Love her and the music. I could listen to it everyday. She takes universal lessons and makes them beautiful.

  2. Such a wonderful article and song!!! Thank You, Jen!!! You keep me smiling!!

  3. Love these lyrics! I’ll have to find the song on i-tunes. I, too, was born in the year of the Rabbit (1963) so I’m looking forward to checking out your link!

    • Betsy! 😀 Hi! Yes, the lyrics too all of her songs are oh-so-beautiful and inspiring. Happy to find another year of the Rabbit woman! Looking forward to making our year one to remember always! 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting xo

  4. Powerful song indeed! And as women I believe that song in particular will always hit home because we constantly put so much and so many other people before ourselves that we sometimes lose ourselves, only to realise it when we reach a a state of desperation.

    • Hi Vanessa! 🙂 You are so right, and I love that more and more women are starting to realise that we do have all the strength, courage and wisdom that we need in order to get through anything, and that the more we take care of ourselves, the more we can take care of others. Thank you so much for reading and leaving such an enlightening comment 🙂 Awesome!

Leave a Reply

