Wise Words: Keep It Simple.

“I can express gratitude for the simple act of being able to breathe in and breathe out. I can move away from darkness and depression to light and hope.

I can be happy with who I am, not what I should be, or what I might have been, or what someone tells me I must be.

I am me, the true me; you are you, the true you – and that’s good. That’s beautiful. That’s enough.”

~ Janet Jackson

How AWESOME is this quote? So simple, yet so true.

I guess, when it comes down to it, life actually is pretty simple.

We breathe in, we breathe out. We drink, we eat. We rest, we move. We laugh, we love. We give, we receive. We share, we thank.

The real truth is, life is simple. It’s not complicated, it’s not hard, and it’s not unfair.

We are the ones who complicate it with our worries, we are the ones who choose to see it as hard, we are the ones who choose to live as victims rather than empower ourselves to live our best lives.

I am me, and you are you. It’s as simple as that. We are alive, we are healthy, we are loved, and we are blessed. That is enough.

And if you take the time, even just thirty seconds, to count your blessings for today, you might just see that what you have is, in fact, much more than enough.

Keep it simple.

Jen ♥

*MARCH already? 2011 is flying by! Now is a great time to go back and revisit the 2011 Virtual Vision Wall! Stay motivated, stay inspired, and most of all, stay AWESOME! 🙂

*My Smiling Heart was just featured on Positively Present, in a post called “be amazing anyway: self-love wrap-up + resources!” Check it out here 🙂

*Thank you to My Smiling Heart reader, Karen, for sharing this quote on Facebook and inspiring this Wise Words post! 🙂

7 responses to “Wise Words: Keep It Simple.

  1. Great way to start the month of March. We do complicate our lives, and we all need to simplify. It’s great to give ourselves permission to just be.

    • You are so right, even reading what you said ‘give ourselves permission to just be’ made me feel more relaxed. Even the idea of it is a relief! I’m trying to simplify as much as possible, less clutter equals more focus 🙂 Thank you for another AWESOME comment! 😀

  2. So simple yet so profoundly true.

    Thanks for sharing this quote Jen. Breathe in, breathe out, lets not complicate the beauty that surrounds us

    • Hi David 😀 It is so simple, but I think that the most simple things in life are also the most beautiful. We just forget about them sometimes, and get distracted by the craziness of life. I’m trying to life a more simple life, and so far I feel so refreshed! Thanks for reading 😀

  3. Wow, I love that Jen. Janet should write for my blog, we both are soul retrievers. Love it!

    • Hi Quinn! 😀 It is such an inspiring quote, isn’t it? Just full of truth 🙂 I can totally see you and Janet hanging out, maybe doing some yoga, hanging out with Big Love 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  4. Pingback: Give Me the Simple Life | Kate's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

