Wise Words: International Women’s Day – We Can Do Anything

 

“My motto is, if a person can do it, I can do it.”

~ Geena Davis

 

It’s International Women’s Day, and how better to celebrate it than with a quote from one of the most dedicated and passionate advocates for women empowerment, the amazing Geena Davis – an actress, activist, mother, and founder of The Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media.

I remember watching an episode of Oprah interviewing Geena when I was a teenager. I don’t remember much about the episode, except for this one vivid moment, when she said, “My motto is, if a person can do it, I can do it.”

The truth of that one simple statement hit me like a tidal wave, imbedding itself in my soul and forever changing my perspective.

I couldn’t believe what I had heard. I remember thinking, ‘I’m a person… that means I can do anything, too!’ I was shocked and excited at this realisation.

I can do anything.

We can do anything.

Here’s another inspirational quote from Geena Davis:

“If you risk nothing, then you risk everything.”

We can do anything. Enough already with risking it all by doing nothing.

To further celebrate International Women’s Day, here are three very important videos:

Miss Representation Trailer:


Geena Davis, Gloria Steinem and Jennifer Newsom: Miss Representation Sundance Panel:


Bond – EQUALS, featuring Daniel Craig:


 

 

Go be empowered,

Jen ♥

*My Smiling Heart is looking for Sponsors! Click here for more info 😀

*I love this – check out the amazingly empowering ROAR! Facebook page, and watch the ROAR! web series for some serious inspiration 🙂

For sources, click on the image.

5 responses to “Wise Words: International Women’s Day – We Can Do Anything

  1. I tweeted lots of ladies who inspire me this morning on Twitter – hopefully going to post some more a bit later 🙂

  2. Pingback: Women Advocates | Women Empowering Women | Inspiring Women | Noisemakers Campaign | She Takes on the World | bizcommunicator's blog

  3. Jen,

    These are such empowering videos. I can’t believe the statistics in the 3rd one, and bravo to Daniel Craig for being in it. It’s interesting though, I’ve never seen a Bond movie, but I know they are suppose to show women in a very sexist light.
    I do get annoyed when in nearly every movie or t.v. show this is how women are displayed.

    It’s our turn to stand up and make a difference. I joked earlier this weekend about how I wanted to be governor of Florida, because the politics here are so screwed up. Though I’m not sure how happy I would be in politics, or how good, I know I at least have a good vision of what this state could be.

    Thanks for posting these, very inspiring videos.

    Kristie

    • Hi Kristie! I know, the statistics are crazy. And I so admire Daniel Craig for having the courage to stand up for women. So many men see it as a weakness, but times are changing. And women are starting to come together, I can feel it.

      You could totally be governor! I myself would never get involved in politics, I can’t stand arguing, haha! But, there are other, maybe even more effective, ways to change the world 🙂

      Thanks for reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

