The Story Of The Bird

 

Hello beautiful!

 

Are you having an AWESOME day? I hope so!

Did you know that it’s nearly My Smiling Heart’s six month birthday?! šŸ˜€ Yay! Six months of growing, learning, connecting, inspiring and smiling at ourselves in the mirror! I can’t tell you how grateful I am to be a part of such an amazing tribe, thank you for a wonderful six months – so far!

Anyone who knows My Smiling Heart is familiar with the image above, especially the bird, that has become the MSH logo.

I just entered this self portrait into an online art competition, and the prize for the People’s Choice award is $2,500 – more than enough for me to be able to continue writing My Smiling Heart once I return to Melbourne in July! – so I would be forever grateful if you would please vote for my work here (click vote in the top right corner). Thank you, thank you, thank you! šŸ˜€

As I entered my artwork into the competition today, I realized that I have never given you the full story behind this self-portrait, so here it is šŸ™‚

The Story Of Me And The Bird My Cat Killed:

 

That’s what this painting is called: A Portrait Of Me And The Bird My Cat Killed.

A few days before I painted it, my cat, Juno, jumped through my window with a bird hanging from his mouth. As soon as I saw it, I ran over to him, took him outside and made him drop the bird, but it was too late. It just lay there on it’s back, eyes closed.

I took it to the back of my garden and placed it under a tree. I felt so saddened by it’s lifeless body, but at the same time I was mesmerized by it’s beauty.

It was a beautiful brown colour, with specks of green and yellow on its feathers. All I could think of was how tragically beautiful it was.

The next day I watched American Beauty for the first time. There’s a scene in it where a boy is filming a dead bird, as it lay lifeless on the grass. When asked why he was filming it, he replied, “Because it’s beautiful.”

Just as he filmed the dead bird for it’s beauty, and in turn immortalized it in film, I wanted to do the same for my dead bird.

I thought to myself, what better way to give something new life than to immortalize it forever in art?

Now, that bird will live forever.

And not only that, over the past six months of My Smiling Heart, the bird has become symbol of positivity, hope, and freedom for me.

This painting represents the beginning of my journey to recognising my own power. The woman in this self-portrait, is the woman that I have grown into since I painted it. And I hope that I have been able to use my power to help you realize your own immense power.

Because you are powerful, awesome, and just so damn amazing!

You have the power to create your life, live your dreams and make this world a better place!

There is no better time to release your AWESOMENESS to the world!

Start with a smile, and just go from there šŸ™‚

So much LOVE,

Jen ā™„

 

* It’s Link Love Friday! Head over to the Facebook page and share links to your amazing blogs/websites/twitter! šŸ˜€

 

 

11 responses to “The Story Of The Bird

  1. What a lovely story! It’s nice to know the story that inspired an artwork. Even though the story gives a new “slant” on your artwork, there’s much more in the art than the story behind it. I see a great connection between you and the bird, which through the magic of your art has been made alive again. I see the now-living bird as a symbol of your spirit that has been made free to fly through the power of art. I could go on and on, but i’ll stop there. Thanks for giving us more insight into your painting.

    • Thank you so much for giving me your perspective of the artwork, I love to hear what other people see in my work and how it affects them šŸ™‚ After all, it’s all about perspective, isn’t it? You’re right, there really was, and still is, a connection between myself and the bird, which I guess is why I use it in so much of my work. It’s a part of me now šŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for sharing your insight!

  2. Voted!

    I liked that the image is to keep the bird around. I have a similar story too. My cat also wounded a bird. It couldn’t fly, and I tried to take care of it for a day, but the next morning the bird died. So, I can understand the feeling. It was quite sad.

    • Oh how sad. They are so fragile, aren’t they? And so beautiful and graceful. Thank you so much for commenting, and for voting! šŸ˜€

  3. Jen it’s almost as if our cat came to deliver a path/message for you to capture your dreams and open you to new opportunities. It’s kind of amazing really that even in sadness there’s hope and I truly love how you’ve brought the bird into your artwork.

    I wish you all the best with the art competition. Definitely got my vote! I’m hoping to enter a competition in May as well.

    • Vanessa, I didn’t think of it that way, but you are so right. Cats are funny creatures šŸ™‚ Thank you so much for such an insightful comment, and thank you for voting! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help you in your competition, too! šŸ˜€

  4. Hey Jen,

    Beautiful sad story but nice way to turn it into something amazing and empowering. I like that: “the bird has become symbol of positivity, hope, and freedom for me.”

    I voted for you šŸ™‚ of course šŸ™‚

  5. Hey Jen, just wanted to say that I’ve been reading your blog for a week or so now & it’s really inspiring to me. I loved this story. And I can’t believe your blog is only 6 months old. You’re doing so fantastic with it! Now THAT is inspiring. šŸ™‚

    • Hi Jessica! Thank you so much! Yep, 6 months old almost, and I have no idea how I survived without it before then! I can’t imagine my life without it now, it’s so essential to my life. I am so, so happy that you find My Smiling Heart so inspiring, you’ve made my day! Thank you so much for reading and commenting, and welcome to the My Smiling Heart community! šŸ˜€

  6. Beautiful and inspiring as usual Jen!And you’ve got my vote;)

Leave a Reply

