Be A Force Of Good

via

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.”

~ Wayne Dyer

Every now and then I come across a nasty comment on a website, see a woe-is-me status update on facebook, a hate-filled tweet, or self-loathing posts on tumblr. Usually I don’t let any of it bother me, but I’ve seen so many the last few days that I just need to say something about it.

If I could get just one message to every single human being on this planet, it would be this:

What you give, comes back to you.

What people don’t realise is, that phrase doesn’t just refer to physical things you give to others, or how you act. It’s everything. Every thought you think, every word you say, and now, every tweet, comment or status update you send out.

What you choose to write online and send out into the world for others to read and absorb, whether it’s positive or negative, that’s your gift to the world. That is the message you are sending to the world. And that’s exactly what you will get back in return.

Everything you put out there matters. Everything you put out there affects your life, as well as the lives of others who see it.

Whether you believe it or not, you have a voice, you have power. You have the power to spread good, to share love, and to make others smile with the click of a mouse, so why would you use it to spread negativity, to share hate, and to make others frown?

One status update, one tweet, one comment, has such a huge ripple effect on the world and the people in it. It’s up to you whether or not your ripple effect spreads love or hate. Think about that every time you’re about to hit send.

I think people forget that there are real human beings with real feelings on the other side of the screen. I’ve seen, and even been the recipient of, online nastiness. People that would never say certain things in real life somehow think it’s okay to say them online. They feel safe and tough behind their keyboards. I’ve seen people join in on cyber bashing me in status updates, only to cower in fear when we crossed paths in real life.

If you wouldn’t say it to a person’s face, don’t write it online. It’s that simple.

In order for this message to spread far and wide, I made these printables and buttons:

Put a button on your blog and link it back to this post, so that everyone will know that you support good vibes, and are committed to inspiring and empowering others instead of beating them down.

Print out the images, stick them above your computer, around the office… anywhere you think this message is needed most.

Ignore those who use their voices to discourage and bring down others. As Wayne Dyer said; that’s their karma. They are the ones filled with hate, fear, and insecurity. Rise above it.

Be a force of good,
Jen ♥


16 responses to “Be A Force Of Good

  1. Hey Jen.

    Nice pics and nice way to spread the love. We see it all the time- no respect, no thought or consideration for others. None of us are perfect, not even close, so why do we put each other down. I think that the most common reason is simply that by putting down a person makes us feel better about ourselves.

    Encouraging a person and seeing them smile makes me feel better about myself than seeing a person in pain because of something I have said or done.

    • Hi David, you are so right. Something I’ve always heard ever since I was a child is this “They are only putting you down because it makes them feel better about themselves.” Seems so backwards, but we’ve all done it. I agree, making others feel good is such a more positive and authentic way to feel good about yourself too. Thanks 🙂

  2. Another very true Dr. Dyer quote:
    “It is impossible for you to be angry and laugh
    at the same time.
    Anger and laughter are mutually exclusive
    and you have the power to choose either.” ~ Wayne Dyer
    http://recovery-recovering.blogspot.com/
    Namaste…ME and the Boss

  3. Hey, I just clicked through from a post on Kind Over Matter from a couple weeks ago–and I have to say, I’m in love with this post. I’ve had this “ripple effect” idea in the back of my head for awhile, but I’ve never blogged about it. You said it way better than I ever could!

    • Hi Andrea! Welcome to the My Smiling Heart community! 😀 So glad this post connected with you so much. Happy to meet others who are spreading a ripple effect of love and awesomeness 😀 Thank you for reading and commenting!

  4. Susan von Struensee

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful creations and lovely spirit, Jen.

  5. LOVE this whole post (especially love the first quote). I try my best to show support and love to those I encounter, because I know I would appreciate the same in return. Awesome post. 🙂

    • Hi there! So happy you love this post! Yes, it’s an amazing quote, one I try to remind myself of daily. And good on you for being a force of good in this world! Thank you so much for reading and sharing your love 🙂

  6. Love it and posted the button and link on my blog.

    • Yay! Thank you! The more people share this message, the greater the ripple effect of love and awesomeness will be! Thank you so much for reading, commenting, sharing and being a force of good! You rock! 😀

  7. This is a fantastic thing to put out into the world xx

Leave a Reply

